Now that Massachusetts is allowing gay and lesbians couples from out of state to marry, you'll want to know how to get married in Massachusetts for gay and lesbian couples.
Time Required: Three Days or More
Make Sure You're Eligible
You must be 18 years old, not married to anyone else and not be closely related by blood or marriage.
Obtain Marriage License
Both people who are marrying must appear in person at any city
or town hall and fill out the application form called a Notice of Intention of Marriage. On this form you will be asked:
- Date of Birth
- Address of residence
- Number of previous marriages and how the last marriage ended
(death or divorce)
- Existence of present or former Civil Union or state-created Domestic Partnership, and dissolution status, if any
- Full name of parents (including middle and maiden names)
- Disclosure of whether applicants are related by blood or marriage
Wait Three Days
After a three-day waiting period go back to the city or town hall where you filed your application and receive the license. The license is valid for 60 days
starting from the day after you filed the notice of intention.
Say "I Do!"
Have a wedding ceremony within the state of Massachusetts.
The marriage must be solemnized by an official such as a Justice of the
Peace or member of the clergy. He or she will then send the license back to the clerk and your
marriage will be officially registered by the state.
- Find a Justice of the Peace
- If you wish to use clergy from out of state, special permission must be obtained from the Governor's office. The clergy person needs to contact
the Secretary of the Commonwealth Public Records Division, One Ashburton
Place, Room 1719, Boston, MA 02108, 617-727-2836.
- Massachusetts law does not require a witness for your ceremony.
- If you have a civil union or domestic partnership, you can marry without dissolving it, as long as you are marrying the same person.
What You Need
- Proof of age, such as Birth Certificate or Passport
- Money - Fees vary from county to county